News in 2023

Call for Nominations:
2 Vice Presidents and 10 Commission Chairs Elects

28 September 2023

FIG Council invites member associations to consider nominations for Vice President of the Federation for the term 2025-2028 and for Chair Elect to each of the 10 Commissions for the term 2025-26 with the aim to become Commission Chair 2027-2030.

The FIG Engagement Committee is ready to  assist with your questions and queries. Read more below...

Deadline: Thursday 11 January 2024 12:00 PM CET

Nomination for two Vice Presidents

The FIG Council is composed by the President of the Federation and four Vice Presidents.

Two vice presidents were elected in 2022 for the term 2023-2026 and two Vice Presidents will be elected at the FIG General Assembly 2024 for the term 2025-2028. The term of office for the Vice Presidents starts on 1 January 2025.

The business of the Federation is directed by the Council under the authority of the General Assembly. The Vice Presidents support the tasks of the President and each will be dedicated areas of responsibilities.

There is generally one face-to-face meeting per year that is held in connection with the Working Week/Congress. Most other council meetings are held online. In case it will be possible there might be other face-to-face meetings.

Vice President candidates must be nominated by their national member associations. Election of the two positions will take place at the FIG General Assembly in Accra, Ghana on 19 and 23 May 2024 following the FIG statutes and internal rules.

FIG Council 2023-2024: President Diane Dumashie, VP Kwame Tenadu, ACCO rep. Tim Burch, VP Winnie Shiu, VP Daniel Steudler, VP Mikael Lilje, Director Louise Friis-Hansen

All nominations must use the official nomination templates specifying the background information together with a covering letter of support from a FIG Member Association. The letter of support must be from either the President or the Principal Officer of the nominating FIG Member Association.

Nominations must be submitted to FIG Director Louise Friis-Hansen by email the latest on Thursday 11 January 2024 at 12:00 PM CET

Nominations arriving after this date will not be considered for the elections.

Commission Chairs Elects Nominations

Please note: the election for Commission Chairs Elects has been postponed to 2025

Read more about this decision

The current Commission chairs 2023-2026. From left: President Diane Dumashie, Timothy Burch (comm 1), Dimo Todorovski (comm 2), Sagi Dalyot (comm 3), Eranda Malavige (comm 4), Ryan Keenan (comm 5), Werner Lienhart (comm 6), Rohan Bennett (comm 7), Peter Ache (comm 9), Mercy Iyortyer (comm 10), Muhammad Mamman Kabir (Africa Regional Network), Ferah Kökhsal (Young Surveyors Network), Paula Dijkstra (Task Force on FIG and the SDGs), Mikael Lilje (council representative to ACCO). Not present were Kwabena Asiama commission 8, Rob Sarib (Asia/Pacific Regional Network), David Martin (Standards Network).

Engagement Committee

Are you in doubt? Whether you are a potential candidate or a potential nominating association you can get help.

The Engagement Committee (EC) was established in 2021 for a trial period of time until 2025 with the tasks to:

  • foster and encourage individuals’ engagement to stand for senior officer levels in FIG, above all to be an open process to encourage people to come forward.
  • work closely with Council; yet maintain independence
  • ensure that people are not discouraged or hesitating to contact and, or to have any fear about coming forward.

It is important to note that the Engagement Committee is not a nomination committee and they do not do any vetting. Their main purpose is to encourage potential candidates and their national member associations and are available for questions and queries. Each member of the committe has long experience with various positions in FIG.

FIG Member Associations and intested potential candidates are welcome to contact one or more of the committee members, or to contact FIG Director Louise Friis-Hansen.

Members of the Engagement Committee 2023-2024
Chryssy Potsiou, Greece
Honorary President
Rudolf Staiger, Germany
Honorary President
Rob Sarib, Australia
Network Chair and former commission vice chair of admin
Angela Etuonovbe, Nigeria
Former Commission Chair
Kate Fairlie, Australia
Former chair of FIG Young Surveyors Network
Ronald Ssengendo, Uganda
Former member of FIG YSN and currently East Africa rep. to Africa Regional Network Steering Committee
John Hohol, USA
President Emeritus of FIG Foundation and Honorary Member


Or contact Director Louise Friis-Hansen at the FIG office.







Louise Friis-Hansen
28 September 2023